While scanning the news this morning, I came across a story about the Kony 2012 film documentary that has gone viral on YouTube via Facebook and other social networking sites. A large part of my work involves social networks and I’ve seen a lot of these types of campaigns come and go over the years, most not worth the time it takes for the video to buffer.

That’s not the case here.

As I ate breakfast this morning, I watched the film. This is not hype. This is not horse shit manipulation. This is not a conspiracy theory. This is not partisan. This is not Jason Russell seeking fame for fame’s sake.

This is an honest effort to do something good for the world and the people in it. Joseph Kony, a man I admit to having never heard of before this morning, has been waging a private war in Uganda for twenty-six years. His victims are children, thousands and thousands of children, that he abducts from their homes and forces to fight and die for him as part of his Lord’s Resistance Army.

This campaign by Invisible Children gives me hope for humanity because they seek to end Kony’s reign of terror in Central Africa not because it’s profitable, but because it is right. You just don’t see that very much in the world anymore.

Grab your favorite beverage, close the door and invest the thirty minutes it will take to watch this film. It changed the way I look at how people can make a difference in the world.

It’s important.

 

Share this video and make Joseph Kony famous.

 

